Triumphant Stories


I was listening to people tell their stories the other day.  And someone said, “everyone has a triumphant story.  We are surrounded by triumphant stories.”  I find this inspiring and I hope it to be true.  I think it can be true.  It just depends on how we define triumph…

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD
Jeremiah 29:11-14

I know that there are times when people are way less than triumphant.  And there are some occasions where this may be someone’s lot or doing.  I think we have some influence there.

One of the ladies whose story I heard was saying that she responded to an opportunity that she wasn’t sure she even wanted because there was some God leading and many voices around her encouraging her.  So she went down a new path she wasn’t even sure of…

The week she started that new job, her husband lost his.  And in that very moment she could see the fingerprint of God in their lives.  You might wonder, how is that a triumphant story?

Who triumphed?  Job loss is a heart-breaking, defeating circumstance.  It hurts.  And did their household income stay the same or go down?  How do we measure the triumph?

Well, consider that the way God measures triumph is probably different than the way we do:
To God, the triumph may have been that the woman followed the leadings of God to take the new job.
To God, the triumph may have been that he provided for that family so that their needs continue to be met.
To God, the triumph may have been that the family gave God the credit and the glory for caring for them.

How do we define triumph?

Some say that when one door closes another one opens.  I want to up that ante.   God has keys to doors, hidden passages, vaults, and treasure chests.  He is able to guide and bless and care and provide for us in every way.   Sometimes not to our satisfaction, yet always to his glory and for our benefit.

Always to triumph.
Depending on whether we are willing to follow.
Depending on how we define triumph.
He is there.
Where are we?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Jeremiah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triumphant Stories

  1. Kris says:

    I hear you Mark. Not only do we have to ask Him to open doors to opportuities, but we also have to ask Him to shut the doors He would rather us not walk through. That can be a tough pill to swallow in the short term, but as time passes, we can look back and realize that when we bend our knee to His plan, we learn invaluable lessons along the way. We do His will on His timeline instead of ours. I would much rather trust and follow His lead than try to muddle through on my own.

  2. Elaine says:

    He is there.
    Always. No matter what.
    Amen!

Leave a Reply

