Interrupting Prayer


Is there a name or a face on your heart?  Has your daily routine been halted by someone who won’t leave your head?  Could it be the voice of God calling you to pray?  I’m thankful that I was on my Nana’s heart often.  I bear the blessings of her commitment to prayer…

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
1Thessalonians 5:17

4 I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers.
Philemon 1:4

I know that our Nana prayed for us.  We prayed together often with her at the end of our visits, and I would always leave a pause with my head down after I said, “Amen.”  Because sometimes Nana would take a turn and pray also.

When Nana prayed, she spoke slowly, and carefully, and quietly, and without exception, she would express thanksgiving for her family.  Nana prayed for us every day as she lay in bed at night.  And probably in the day.  It seems that older people, when their hearts are turned toward the things of God, become consistent intercessors for the needs of others.

One time Nana surprised me when she said that I sometimes interrupt her prayer time with God.  Not by arriving or phoning her.  By coming into her mind with a force that interrupts what she was talking to God about.  I was a bit disturbed at first, not wanting to be an interference in Nana’s prayer life.

Yet this was simply another way of Nana telling me what she always told me.  She loved me.  Dearly.  And for her to think of those she loved isn’t surprising.  I believe, and have experienced that God puts people on our hearts to pray.  I take it seriously when my thoughts or prayers are interrupted by a person.  I take it to mean that I should pray for them.

And so I have the blessing, as should our whole family, that Nana was in prayer for us.
She was even prompted by God to hold us up in prayer.
Nana was thankful to count us as family,
When really we should be more thankful than her.
This is one of the reasons we loved her so much.

Nana was living out God’s will in her prayer time, and I feel challenged in my own prayer life by her example.  I am left convicted that I can have a much more vibrant prayer ministry for my family, and for my friends.  I can set aside more time to hold others up to the throne of grace.  And I can be more alert to the names and faces which God places in front of me to pray.

Thank you for your example, Nana.
And Lord,  may we embrace our privilege to raise the needs of others to you,
Expressing our thanksgiving for those who surround us,
And interceding on behalf of those you bring to our hearts and minds.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in 1Thessalonians, Philemon, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

