Psalm 86 – Undivided Followers


Today is my third day reviewing Psalm 86 – it is rich with connections to my life and the human experience.  Teach us your ways, oh Lord.  We desire to respond to the world around us with behaviour which reflects our Maker and our Saviour, to glorify you…

11 Teach me your way, Lord,
that I may rely on your faithfulness;
give me an undivided heart,
that I may fear your name.
12 I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;
I will glorify your name forever.
13 For great is your love toward me;
you have delivered me from the depths,
from the realm of the dead.
Psalm 86:11-13

Lord, we want to know your ways.  The more we know and understand your ways, the more we can rely on your example and faithfulness in the way we respond to the world around us.  Isn’t that what it’s all about?  A godly response and a godly love shown to the world around us so that our family, friends, and neighbours might glorify you, God (Matthew 5:16).  This is letting our light shine.

We want our hearts to be undivided, God.  We don’t want to separate our sacred lives from our interaction with the world around us.  There should be no division.  The sacred and secular divide isn’t a divide – they are one for the people of God.  We are your people in all contexts and desire to fear your name in our behaviour and attitudes in all situations.

The Psalmist accurately points back to the work of God in us as the motivation for our discipleship.  We praise and follow the God who picked us up out of the depths and the realm of the dead.  Spiritual lifelessness.  We become alive spiritually as we respond to God.  As we die to the enemy of self, which has no regard for the Lord, we move to pursue undivided loyalty to Jesus.

Teach us your ways, oh Lord.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

