Pray For Ann


When Ann interrupted my coffee at Starbucks, I wasn’t sure what was going to happen.  As I turned around to answer her, I didn’t recognize her face, yet she recognized me as a follower of Jesus.  And I am changed forever by Ann whose name I will one day know…

2 Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.
Galatians 6:2

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.
Ephesians 6:18

I was wearing my company ID around my neck and Ann could see the name, which is a Christian nonprofit serving seniors.  I was sitting in Starbucks, having coffee with a friend and she was behind me.  I heard her voice, “Excuse me…. Do you work there?”  I told her I did.

She then told me that I must be a Christian.  I confirmed that I am, and asked how I could help her.  Ann told me that she and her family have been struggling financially for some time now and that the Bible says that we ought to bear one another’s burdens.

I agreed.

Then she asked me to pray for her.  I have been convicted in the last few months to make commitments to pray for people, and so I immediately committed to pray for her over the next month.  I asked her for her name, but she wouldn’t give it to me.

“I don’t think you need my name to pray for me.  God knows my name.”  True dat.  God knows her name.  And I didn’t need to know.  I named her Ann.  And I have been praying for her for the last month.  Maybe you could join me as we approach Christmas.

I don’t know the details of her circumstances.  I don’t even know Ann’s name.  All I know is that she is needy, afraid, and trusting in God.  Yes – those things go together.  If you are needy and afraid, there may not be a better place to be than trusting in God.

Oh, and she is brave.  Ann has a courage that should spark in us a similar abandon to actually ask our brothers and sisters in Christ – even complete strangers – to pray for our needs and bear our burdens.

Because we aren’t complete strangers.  We are kin.  We are the family of God.  And he knows our names.  And we will one day meet Ann face to face and on that day hear how God met her needs.

Pray for your kin.
Even those whose names you do not know.
Fulfill the law of Christ.
The law of love…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Galatians and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pray For Ann

  1. I will add Ann to my prayer list.

  2. Susieqmt says:

    I also have and will continue to pray for Ann.

Leave a Reply

