Mazatlan I – Aisle Seats and Bus Lessons


When we checked in for our flight to Mazatlan last week, I did what I always do and asked for seats as close to the front of the plane as possible.  The poetic justice which followed took a full 12 hours to play itself out, and it led to one young man learning a great lesson…

Today is part of a series of reflections I wrote on our family trip to Mazatlan over the holidays.  A little different from the norm and hopefully interesting enough to read…

There were two seats for my boys in 3 and 4 sitting in aisle seats.  I thought that would be perfect – I like an aisle for elbow room and leg-stretching potential.  One called ‘Shotty the window seat‘ from behind me and I turned and advised that I was securing him an aisle.

“But I want a window…”  I moved him to the window with the check-in agent while Lucy tried to explain the advantages and disadvantages of his choice.  He wasn’t having any.  His strength of character and commitment to what he believes is right can be unwavering to the point of no reason.  Ever had that happen to you?

As we walked away he asked who he was sitting next to.  No one.  You’re in a window seat with two strangers and your brother is on the aisle in the row behind you.  He was pretty upset.  In fact, he punched his brother in the arm and wouldn’t talk to us for a few minutes.  It didn’t help that we were all giggling.  Dude.  You got what you asked for…

When we landed and were boarding the bus for the resort, he had two seats to himself.  The rest of the bus was full, yet we couldn’t leave because a guy’s wife was missing.  She had wandered back toward the terminal after her husband and bags were loaded on the bus.  He finally went out and found her and when she reached the bus, 10 steps ahead of him, she was furious.  She stormed onto the bus and the only seat left was next to my son…

As she found the empty seat, she rudely said, “You’re going to have to move over!”  I was proud of him, because he didn’t tell her any of the things he was thinking.  Good self-control my boy – fruit of the Spirit!

It was only later after dinner that night that the story was being recounted and he was chattering about how crazy the lady was and how rude she was to him. He hadn’t seen the view of the scene outside before she boarded the bus.

And so I saw a beautiful poetic justice moment to share – I explained that she was angry because of a mistake she made, and rather than focusing her anger on herself she was lashing out at innocent bystanders who had nothing to do with her situation.

The events of 12 hours earlier suddenly dropped like a penny in his young mind…  he smiled and gave me a shove.  Simple and subtle lesson learned.  Turns out we met her several times during the week and she was pretty nice.  Just like my son.

Everyone has a bad day, and everyone is learning…

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in My Story, Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

