Mazatlan III – God’s Voice Biker Dude


I kept seeing the same fellow on the beach and around the resort. He was about 6’4″ and built like a WWE wrestler or a biker.  I settled on biker.  Tattoos covering both arms – skulls and reaper-like ghosts.  And God was saying, go meet that guy.  Would I listen? Today is part of a series of reflections I wrote on our family trip to Mazatlan over the holidays.  A little different from the norm and hopefully interesting enough to read…

17 “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I too am working.”

19 Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. 20 For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed.
John 5:17, 19-20

10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.
Ephesians 2:10

I wanted to see him with his shirt off to see if there were any gang logos or names to associate him with my brilliantly scripted tale of the intimidating biker persona he must have…  or not.  No gang ink.  Just a guy.  A guy that I kept seeing.  A guy that God was whispering for me to introduce myself to.

I didn’t though.  Or should I say wouldn’t?  And later I regretted it.  God was definitely speaking to me, and I was only half-listening.  You see, God is working all around us right now.  Jesus told us in John 5 that the Father continues to work up until today and is still working.  Jesus made it known that he followed the Father’s lead and joined him in his work.

And I kept walking.  Half-staring.

Has this happened to you?  I think it has.

Why don’t we listen to God and obey him when he prompts us to act as his agents of peace and love in the world?  When we keep walking, we miss the opportunity to do the things which God created beforehand for us to do. 

Whether it doesn’t fit our agenda or our own idea of good-timing, we make up all sorts of reasons, develop full lists of crazy assumptions, and talk ourselves out of being the hands and feet of Jesus.

I learned my lesson this week.  Tune in tomorrow to hear how…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in John, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

