Mazatlan V – Tattoos and Divine Appointments


On Christmas Day, I saw Joe on the beach and found my way over to him.  We chatted a bit and then started talking tattoos.  Joe’s arms were covered – pretty much full sleeves – and I knew I could use the opportunity to share with him about God’s healing….

The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”
Exodus 14:14

Today is part of a series of reflections I wrote on our family trip to Mazatlan over the holidays.  A little different from the norm and hopefully interesting enough to read…

I showed Joe the cross on my back with Exodus 14:14 underneath.  And then I shared the full story of Lucy’s healing in the Philippines in 2010 when she received God’s voice telling her that she could go off all her medication for the fibromyalgia / central pain disorder she had suffered for close to six years.

As part of her recovery we agreed to mark the healing of God with matching cross tattoos which were designed by a boy from the mission Lucy visited in the Philippines.  I told Joe that Lucy had been well now for over four years.  Sometimes you don’t know why you are even sharing something with a friend until you find out later what they are going through…  God’s fingerprints often appear later.

He asked if we were Christians, and then shared that a friend of his had been encouraging him to give Christianity a try.  Joe said, “My friend says Christianity is not a religion like Jehovah’s Witness.  He says it’s a faith.”  True dat, Joe.

And then Joe went on to describe a life of depression and discord from which he needed to get away – he shared that he was in Mexico to clear his head.  He thanked me again for inviting him to Christmas dinner, because he was so depressed and feeling down.  God knew…

And everything he shared about his relationship breaking down to his relationship with his son and his family pointed to a need for that Christian faith.  That faith which allows people to rest in the presence of God who says in Exodus 14:14, “I will fight for you. You need only to be still.”

I’m not sure what is going to happen next in Joe’s life.  I feel thankful that I was able to speak into his life a bit and influence him toward the Lord.  I don’t feel I went far enough, however.  On our last day there, I was looking for Joe because I wanted my family to come around him and pray with him for his depression to subside and for him to have faith.

My son saw him board the bus for his flight home that morning.  I missed my chance, and learned again that when God opens doors, we need to walk through and not hesitate.  We need to make the most of every opportunity.

Have faith, Joe.
God will fight for you.
You need only to be still.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

