Mahanaim Moments


After Jacob left Laban with their peace treaty negotiated, he kept on his way toward the land of his father Isaac.  He was actually going to see Esau.  Yet on his way, we read that the angels of God met him.  What would you do with a heavenly host on your path?

1 Jacob also went on his way, and the angels of God met him. 2 When Jacob saw them, he said, “This is the camp of God!” So he named that place Mahanaim.
Genesis 32:1

We don’t get a whole lot of information from this encounter that Jacob has on the path home.  We just know that they meet him on his journey and he calls the place Mahanaim as the ‘camp of God’.  I imagine that the angels’ presence was felt there all the while they were camped. 

It was a holy ground moment for Jacob and his family.  Much like Moses’ experience at the burning bush.  Visited by angels… for what reason?  I can only believe that the Lord was validating them for their journey.

He was the one who told them to leave Laban, and as they obeyed the Lord, he affirmed them through the presence of his angels.

When I obey God’s voice, I find this is true.  I haven’t had a company of angels descend on me, yet I have been affirmed in my pursuit of God’s direction for me.  It leads me to have confidence that God does not sit back and remain uninvolved in our lives.  He is with us always and will speak to us if we listen and watch for him.

Watch for your Mahanaim moment…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Genesis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

