Who am I & Great I AM


When God met with Moses at the unburning bush, he told Moses that he could hear the cries of his people in Egypt.  What started several generations earlier as relief from famine in Canaan turned into slavery under Pharaoh.  And God came down to rescue them…

7 The Lord said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. 8 So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey—the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. 9 And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. 10 So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.”

11 But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

12 And God said, “I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God on this mountain.”
Exodus 3:7-12

God had come down to rescue them.

What an amazing truth that God comes down to rescue his people.  That’s what he did through Jesus.  He sent his Son into he world to be our rescue.  Amazing grace of God!

In Israel’s case, God sent Moses to bring his people out of Egypt.  Why Moses?  Well, it appears that Moses was spared the fate of all Hebrew babies (who were killed under Pharaoh’s decree) and he was raised by Pharaoh’s daughter to understand the inside track of Egyptian culture.  And he had leadership abilities of which he was unaware.  Yet God knew…

And so when Moses answered, ‘who am I?’ the great I AM answered that he would be with him.  That’s our posture.  Who am I?

Every time we approach God with humility and faith with a ‘who am I’ attitude God responds with a great I AM answer.  He will be with us.

For Moses, God’s presence, power, and provision led him and Aaron through their epic battle with Pharaoh.  For us, God’s presence, power, and provision will lead us through the battles we face.

The great I AM is with us!

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

