Tall Order


Most of us bristle at the thought of being held to standards.  Accountability is difficult for humans because we want to live our own ways.  We don’t like to be told what to do.  Pursuing a life patterned after Jesus’ life is counter-intuitive.  It’s a tall order…

29 For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.
Romans 8:29

9 “And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for the Lord searches every heart and understands every desire and every thought.”
1Chronicles 28:9

I serve on the board of our church, and we are implementing a code of conduct for elders which is similar to the code of conduct we ask our church employees to commit to in their lives and employment.  Yup.  In their employment and in their lives.  In our lives…

We recognize that our role in the church requires a service to God which is based on a life that is sold out to him.  Sold out. Entirely committed.  Serve God with wholehearted devotion and a willing mind, David says to Solomon in 1Chronicles 28:9. That’s the level of commitment God expects us and desires for us to embrace.

And still the idea of a code of conduct was hard for me.  It’s not what it said, because it was only reminding me of things which the Bible teaches about life and faith.  My input was that we might as well write ‘walks on water’ at the top.   Another elder paraphrased my thoughts.  ‘It’s a tall order,’ he said.

Yes.  It’s a tall order. And as I have reflected on the tall order over the last 24 hours, two things have become clear to me…

The first is that my code of conduct is a picture of Jesus. It’s a description of Jesus. And I want to pattern my life after Jesus.  I want to reflect the character and life of Jesus when be walked this earth a human.  The good news is that God is fashioning the image of Christ into me.  He is fashioning me into the image of Christ. Romans 8:29 promises me that I am foreknown and predestined to be conformed to the image of the Son.

The second is that I am not alone in that journey and there is grace.  Jesus has promised me in Matthew 28 that he is with me always.   The God who met Moses at the unburning bush defined himself as the I AM. He always is and is always as present and as powerful as he has ever been.

And so I am not alone in pursuing the tall order.

I serve a tall God. 

And he is helping me to grow taller every day in the image of Jesus.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in 1Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

