Praying for a Friend


The Lord’s Prayer is an excellent example of how to pray, and it can be applied to any situation. I found myself recently not knowing exactly how to pray and Jesus’ example gave me a wonderful opportunity to support my friend before at the throne of grace…

9 “This, then, is how you should pray:

“‘Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
10 your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
11 Give us today our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
13 And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.’
Matthew 6:9-13

26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.
Romans 8:26-27

I was praying for someone the other day, and found myself at a loss for words.  I didn’t know how to pray.  I had started with several specific details about her situation, which I knew.  Then I found myself silent.  Has that ever happened to you?

I am comforted that in Romans 8:26-27 we learn that the Spirit of God intercedes for us when we don’t know how to pray.  And so I trust that the Spirit was all over it.  Still, though, I pressed on to continue praying.

I was reminded by God that Jesus taught us how to pray when he walked among us. In Matthew 6 we find the Lord’s Prayer.  And I found that it gave me everything I needed.

I prayed first of all that God is holy, acknowledging that his name is hallowed.  We are to reflect that holiness, which was the spirit of what my friend needed.

I prayed that the kingdom of God would come relating to her issue, and that her behaviour would reflect the kingdom of God. I also prayed that God’s will would be done in the situation.  She was clearly being obedient to God in her actions, yet that didn’t make her circumstance slam dunk.  It was more aptly described as a storm of life.

I prayed that just as God sustained Israel with manna in the wilderness, that the he would sustain my friend with the daily bread of wisdom and the right words to say.

I asked God to forgive her of any wrongdoing in the situation and make her forgiving of the other person involved. I likewise prayed that she wouldn’t be tempted to get caught up or drawn into tit-for-tat arguments; rather, that she would be protected from the evil one.  

I continued to pray the doxology, proclaiming that God has the power to completely resolve and prevail over my friend’s situation, and that God will glorified as she obeys him in her steps.

I was able to interact so much more with my friend’s circumstance through the context of the Lord’s Prayer and would recommend this to anyone who finds they do not know how to pray… He is listening!

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Matthew and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

