Psalm 101 – A Closer Walk


Psalm 101 is a great instruction manual to help us start a closer walk with God and a life of goodness.  Followers of Jesus can always follow more closely – we decrease as Jesus increases.  Today we see some good examples of moving from crowd-to-cross-living…

1 I will sing of your love and justice; to you, Lord, I will sing praise. 2 I will be careful to lead a blameless life— when will you come to me?

I will conduct the affairs of my house with a blameless heart. 3 I will not look with approval on anything that is vile.

I hate what faithless people do; I will have no part in it. 4 The perverse of heart shall be far from me; I will have nothing to do with what is evil.

5 Whoever slanders their neighbor in secret, I will put to silence; whoever has haughty eyes and a proud heart, I will not tolerate.

6 My eyes will be on the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me; the one whose walk is blameless will minister to me.

7 No one who practices deceit will dwell in my house; no one who speaks falsely will stand in my presence.

8 Every morning I will put to silence all the wicked in the land; I will cut off every evildoer from the city of the Lord. Psalm 101

Our blameless life starts with a focus on God’s love and justice.  Notice that David begins with a celebration of the character of God, and then he moves into his own commitment of lifestyle to reflect God’s own goodness and holiness.  As we follow Jesus and demonstrate godliness in the world, we are a reflection of our Lord. I will never achieve full blamelessness.  I will continue to fall short of God’s glory in my walk with him through life.  Yet I still desire to lead that life.  I want to be like David: careful to lead a blameless life. David seems to know that the heart (vs. 2) is critical – we conduct our affairs from the heart.  How’s your heart?  Last weekend I heard a great challenge from Pastor Kirk to choose between the crowd and the cross.  Where is your heart?  In the crowd or at the foot of the cross?  Our hearts will determine how we lead our affairs. Our eyes (vs. 3) impact our blameless life.  David determined to not look with approval on anything that is vile.  There is much content on TV and the internet which violates good taste.  It is difficult to look away from the spectacle of trash, isn’t it?  How did we get here?  How did we let our minds be entertained by corruption while goodness is left uncelebrated? The faithless (vs. 3) and the perverse and evil (vs. 4) will be far from me.  The only time I should be near these people is on mission.  If I have the express purpose of cultivating or redeeming under the presence and power of the Holy Spirit, then my actions will parallel Jesus investing time with sinners.  Otherwise, I am simply turning from the cross to the crowd… My ears and my mouth (vs. 5) will not tolerate or participate in slander.  Speaking falsehood (vs. 7) is not okay in my presence, as I desire to hold myself to truth and encouragement. And may I be built up in my own walk by another whose walk is blameless (vs. 6).  God, place mentors around me to pour into my life this week.  I desire to follow you and ask for good examples of Jesus around me. Amen. Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psalm 101 – A Closer Walk

  1. Mikel H says:

    Reblogged this on Proj3ct Ignit3 and commented:
    Very Interesting!

Leave a Reply

