Psalm 109 – Persecuted Confidence


When unfair treatment and persecution come our way, how do we respond?  David cries out to God in Psalm 109 and lays his heart and his requests before the Lord.  I admire David because of his confidence in God to care for him and rescue him from his enemies…

1 My God, whom I praise,
do not remain silent,
2 for people who are wicked and deceitful
have opened their mouths against me;
they have spoken against me with lying tongues.
3 With words of hatred they surround me;
they attack me without cause.
4 In return for my friendship they accuse me,
but I am a man of prayer.
5 They repay me evil for good,
and hatred for my friendship.

26 Help me, Lord my God;
save me according to your unfailing love.
27 Let them know that it is your hand,
that you, Lord, have done it.
28 While they curse, may you bless;
may those who attack me be put to shame,
but may your servant rejoice.
29 May my accusers be clothed with disgrace
and wrapped in shame as in a cloak.

30 With my mouth I will greatly extol the Lord;
in the great throng of worshipers I will praise him.
31 For he stands at the right hand of the needy,
to save their lives from those who would condemn them.
Psalm 109:1-5, 26-31

David is calling out to God because even though he is trying to be a friend to others, they are returning his friendship as a curse.  We know David was chased by his own father-in-law King Saul – as the anointed one who would become King, David was persecuted for his destiny.

That’s probably a good point to remember – sometimes persecution relates to things which we don’t even control.  Our family, ethnicity, gender, and even God’s anointing can all be the source of persecution…

God stands at the right hand of the needy (vs. 31).  Isn’t that a blessing?  Often we won’t receive our help from God when we think we need it.  That’s David’s situation.  He is calling and crying out to God because he has yet to experience the relief he desires.

The admirable thing about David, however, is that he has confidence in God for who God is and what God will do.  He knows that God has a heart for those who humble themselves toward him and he will come alongside the oppressed.

Do you have that confidence in God?
Or are you one of the oppressors with whom God will deal harshly?
God knows and he sees.
His people will cry out to him and he will answer.
He will show is grace and his protective nature toward his own children.

David’s example of trust in God and honest, heart-felt cries before the Lord is an example of how to work through times of persecution and oppression.  He continued to honour God even in the times of trouble.

May we do likewise in our own lives.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

