Peter: Holy Overconfidence


Our view of our faithfulness to God is different from God’s perfect view of our true faithfulness.  Peter was bold before the Lord and we should be thankful for his boldness.  The example of Peter gives us so many opportunities to learn about ourselves…

33 “My children, I will be with you only a little longer. You will look for me, and just as I told the Jews, so I tell you now: Where I am going, you cannot come.

36 Simon Peter asked him, “Lord, where are you going?”

Jesus replied, “Where I am going, you cannot follow now, but you will follow later.”

37 Peter asked, “Lord, why can’t I follow you now? I will lay down my life for you.”

38 Then Jesus answered, “Will you really lay down your life for me? Very truly I tell you, before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times!
John 13:33, 36-38

Peter believed that wherever Jesus went he should be privileged to go with him because of his faithfulness. “I will lay down my life for you, Jesus.”  Have you ever said that?

Our commitments to Christ are that strong in our hearts, aren’t they?  We believe with all our beings that we would do anything for God, and under threat of death we not deny him.  Peter believed the same.

The lesson is that pride goes before a fall (Proverbs 16:18).  When we think we can stand tall, there are pressures and temptations and snares which will trip us up.

Jesus told Peter that he would deny the Lord three times.  We know the story – every word that Jesus utters comes true, as Peter is devastated by his own lack of faithfulness.

God is gracious.  He knows we are human.  The issue is not that we deny the Lord in our lives.  Jesus died because of that reality.  We are sinners.

The issue in this story is believing that we are not sinners or won’t sin.  That holy overconfidence sets us up in a prideful state which can make our fall harder than it would have been.

Oh, to be faithful like you, Lord…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

