Jesus: First Place in Everything?


In order for Jesus to become greater in my life and for me to become less, I need to recognize Jesus’ place in my life.  When I understand who Jesus is, that he was and is and is to come, it will change my perspective on the priority he takes in my daily life…

18 He is also head of the body, the church; and He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, so that He Himself will come to have first place in everything.
Colossians 1:18

30 He must become greater; I must become less.
John 3:30

Paul summarizes for us in Colossians 1:18 that Jesus is the head of the church – we are a body made up of many parts working together.  Our head is Christ (1Corinthians 12:12).  As a body, we move according to where our head leads us.  Just like in a human body.  And when my head says go left and my legs go right, I fall down.

Jesus is the beginning.  In Genesis 1 we read of God creating everything.  In John 1 we learn that Jesus was not only there, he is one with the Father.  In Colossians 1 we learn that Jesus is the creator.  Not just there in the beginning.  He is the beginning.

He is firstborn from the dead.  Jesus was the first to rise from the dead for eternity.  There are a couple of people in the stories of Jesus’ life whom he raised from the dead. Each of those people died again later in their lives.  Jesus was the first to rise and stay risen.  For eternity.  We will also rise, yet he is first.  Firstborn of the resurrection.  Firstborn of heaven. First to be glorified.

All of this points to Jesus coming to have first place in everything.  Does Jesus have first place in your life today?  There are many times when we make him second or third or fifth.  Sometimes, we throw him a nod or the odd bone.  Seriously.  He is a second thought or an afterthought to many of us.

He must become greater; I must become less.

Jesus won’t become greater in my life unless he takes priority in my life.  He deserves to have first place in everything.  And everything includes my life.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Colossians, John and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

