Spirit Teacher and Reminder


The Holy Spirit is ever-present to play an active role in the life and heart of each follower of Jesus.  Frankly, I need it.  A day doesn’t go by without me needing heart reminders of my purpose and calling.  The Spirit helps me hear the voice of Jesus speaking to me…

26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.
John 14:26

The Holy Spirit will teach us everything and remind us of what Jesus said.  That’s part of his role as our comforter and advocate. Good thing too, because we need it.  I don’t know about you, but I regularly find myself in situations in which I don’t know what to do and in which I am tempted to go my own way.

That’s when I need the Jesus voice in my ear.

The Holy Spirit makes sure that I hear him.  How does the Spirit know so much about Jesus?  Well, apart from being equally God with Jesus, the Holy Spirit was with Jesus  during his earthly life as an active force and source of strength for the Lord.  Remember that it was the Spirit who led Jesus into the desert where he was tempted.

It was the Spirit who descended in Jesus like a dove after his baptism.

And so, not only was the Spirit present when Jesus taught the people, the Spirit may well have been the source of some of the teaching of the Lord. We have in the Spirit the most amazing resource and blessing to live a life of following Jesus.

Holy Spirit, please speak to me today.
Holy Spirit, show me the good and godly way to go today.
I want to please you and reflect you in my life.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in John and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

