Psalm 118: Rescue and Delight


The Lord is good – he is our strength and our defense and he has become our salvation.  We hear these things, yet in the tough times of our lives we see them come into being.  King David called out to God and God rescued and delighted in him…

1 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

5 When hard pressed, I cried to the Lord;
he brought me into a spacious place.
6 The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid.
What can mere mortals do to me?
7 The Lord is with me; he is my helper.
I look in triumph on my enemies.

14 The Lord is my strength and my defense;
he has become my salvation.
Psalm 118:1, 5-7, 14

The psalmist, who appears to be David, is hard pressed, which David was while Saul pursued him relentlessly.  The Lord brought David through this, into a spacious place, which we also read about in 2Samuel 22:20: “He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.” 

God is our rescuer when we are under attack.  He is our strength and defense, even though we are typically determined to fight or take flight on our own…  David stayed in the pocket.  He was not going to move out of God’s hand.

Here we see that God’s rescue is related to his delight in us.

When I first read this I couldn’t figure out why God would delight in me.  Maybe God should delight in David, yet why me?  This is where the comfort of God’s unconditional love is so powerful.

He loves us all so much that he gave his only Son, Jesus, for us. 

When we understand that God gave up the most precious thing for people who didn’t know him, we get a glimpse into his love.  And then we see that his delight is part of who he is.

We may go through trials and battles, yet in the hand of God’s rescue and delight, we can take confidence that mortals can do nothing to us apart from God’s control.

His love endures forever…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

