Psalm 119 – Run in the Path of Revival


The psalmist starts this section of Psalm 119 laid low in the dust.  When we are low on life and in a rough spot, we may call out like this and ask God to preserve our lives, according to his word…  What does that mean?  How will God revive us according to his word?

25 I am laid low in the dust;
preserve my life according to your word.
26 I gave an account of my ways and you answered me;
teach me your decrees.
27 Cause me to understand the way of your precepts,
that I may meditate on your wonderful deeds.
28 My soul is weary with sorrow;
strengthen me according to your word.
29 Keep me from deceitful ways;
be gracious to me and teach me your law.
30 I have chosen the way of faithfulness;
I have set my heart on your laws.
31 I hold fast to your statutes, Lord;
do not let me be put to shame.
32 I run in the path of your commands,
for you have broadened my understanding.
Psalm 119:25-32

Preserve my life according to your word, God.  What does that mean?  It’s like a revival.  Revive me from near death, God.  According to your word.  You see, God identifies himself in Exodus 20 as the God who brought his people out of slavery.  He is in the business of revival and restoration.  That’s what the stories of the Bible are often pointing to in the character of God.

We can tell God our plans and our justifications for our ways, and God will answer consistently with his decrees – his precepts – his instructions for life.

When Jesus met people and they accounted for the ways of the world, whether it was Nicodemus stuck in the physical and not understand the spiritual, or the rich young ruler believing he was righteous enough, Jesus answered with God’s way.

Be born again.  Let me make you a new creation.  Give it all away and stop making stuff your god.  Come to me and I will be your God.

Consistently in this section of Psalm 119, the answer to our situations, weariness, and deceit is God’s precepts.  When we run in the path of his ways, we will not be put to shame and our understanding will be broadened.  When we set our hearts on his way, we find the way of faithfulness.  He is faithful.

So why don’t we?
Time to run in the path.
The path of his commands.
The path of his revival.
The God path…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

