35 Year Old Lie


Deceit is not okay.  Not bold-faced.  Not white-lies.  Not even to flatter your mother-in-law for her favourite dish (which you don’t really love).  I got caught up in a lie recently and it taught me a lesson.  And it was a group of ten year olds who set me on the right track…

16 “You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.”
Exodus 20:16

22 The Lord detests lying lips, but he delights in people who are trustworthy.
Proverbs 12:22

37 “All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.”
Matthew 5:37

I have a scar on the inside of my right elbow – it’s a burn which I earned when I was about 10 years old, playing with fire at a friend’s house.  My arm was burned in the process, yet instead of telling my Mom what happened, I bandaged myself up and wore long sleeves.

When she finally noticed the bandages, I told her I cut myself climbing a tree in the forest.  Nice one.  Smooth.  She was none the wiser.  And I still have a scar 35 years later.  It’s a reminder that I lied to my Mom.

I told this story to my campers at our church’s Soccer Camp last week.  It was my example of sin and how we all do things which are against God’s plan for us.  Their response?  They asked if she ever found out.  I said I thought I must have told her eventually.

They said I needed to call her to make sure I told the truth.  And I had to do it before the next day!

Mom and I had a laugh on the phone about it and she forgave me.  All lies are not that easy to confess and seek forgiveness for, are they?

We have always said in our house that we can’t lie to each other because once we lie, we lose trust and it’s hard to believe anything after that.  We’ve repeated that many times over the years with our kids.

Truth is, we all need to hear the message.
Tell the truth.
Don’t make other people look bad by your lies.
Don’t make yourself look good by your lies.
Let your yes be yes and your no be no.

Amen.

Marc Kinn

 

This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 35 Year Old Lie

  1. Hahhahahahahhahahahahaha…kids

Leave a Reply

