Psalm 119 – Words in My Mouth


The reason we can have a word to say when we are challenged by the evil one or any persecutor is that we trust in the word of God (vs. 42).  God’s word, spoken through the Holy Spirit, will give us whatever we need to answer anyone relating to life or faith.

41 May your unfailing love come to me, Lord,
your salvation, according to your promise;
42 then I can answer anyone who taunts me,
for I trust in your word.
43 Never take your word of truth from my mouth,
for I have put my hope in your laws.
44 I will always obey your law,
for ever and ever.
45 I will walk about in freedom,
for I have sought out your precepts.
46 I will speak of your statutes before kings
and will not be put to shame,
47 for I delight in your commands
because I love them.
48 I reach out for your commands, which I love,
that I may meditate on your decrees.
Psalm 119:41-48

The psalmist says that he doesn’t take the word of truth out of his mouth.  Interesting.  What I think usually happens is that we have God’s word in our hearts (from reading and listening and being encouraged by other Christians) and we do the same for others.  His words are in our hearts and in our mouths.

And then we put something else in our mouths…

Sarcasm.  Malice.  Backbiting.  Course joking.

It’s all so easy, yet we would do better to not take the word of truth and hope and love and grace out of our mouth for anything.  The joke isn’t worth it. The self-preservation isn’t that important…

It would be better to walk in liberty (vs. 45).  In freedom.  In the wide open spacious place of God.  That’s a place of no fear.  It’s a place where we can have confidence to speak from the Word in our hearts.

The psalmist can speak before Kings and not be ashamed (vs.46).  Isn’t that what Daniel did with Nebuchadnezzar?  Isn’t that what Jesus did with Herod and Pilate?  God’s word in them.  Unwavering commitment to keep his word in their mouths.  No shame. No fear.  And glory to God…

May we seek God and his word and keep it in our mouths.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

