Psalm 119 – Response to Our Maker


Have you ever thought about how God made you and what your response to him as Creator might be?  I know for many that doesn’t compute, yet for those who believe God to be the one who made you, how ought we to live in response to our Maker?

73 Your hands made me and formed me;
give me understanding to learn your commands.
74 May those who fear you rejoice when they see me,
for I have put my hope in your word.
75 I know, Lord, that your laws are righteous,
and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.
76 May your unfailing love be my comfort,
according to your promise to your servant.
77 Let your compassion come to me that I may live,
for your law is my delight.
78 May the arrogant be put to shame for wronging me without cause;
but I will meditate on your precepts.
79 May those who fear you turn to me,
those who understand your statutes.
80 May I wholeheartedly follow your decrees,
that I may not be put to shame.
Psalm 119:73-80

The psalmist ties the desire to learn the precepts of God with the reality of our creation by God.  We often think about how God is the creator of the heavens and the earth, and we speak of the beauty of his creation, yet we also ought to recognize that he is the maker of each individual person.

“Your hands made me and formed me.”

Dwell on that.  It prompts a whole bunch of follow-up questions and realities.  Made me for what?  Made me why?  Made me this way?  Made my strengths and my weaknesses?

How do I properly respond to God’s intent in making me?

The psalmist responds with “give me understanding…”  Show me what your intentions were God.  Help me learn your ways which are represented in your principles for living.  I realize over and over that when I am going down the God-path in my life, I experience a greater level of clarity in terms of God’s purpose, compared to times when I am walking down the self-path exclusively.

God’s compassion flows to us and his affliction is granted in his faithfulness.  Everything which happens to us occurs under the hand and the eye of God.  Perhaps the first and foremost response is simply to respond in acknowledging God as our Maker.

For if we respond and act as if he is our Maker, we will certainly be on the road to pleasing the one who formed us.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

