Psalm 119 – Meditating My Way To Wisdom


What is your meditation throughout the day?  What consumes your thoughts and reflections in your day?  The psalmist has a love for God’s law and dwells on the word of the Lord all day.  Here’s why. The psalmist knows that God’s word makes him wise…

97 Oh, how I love your law!
I meditate on it all day long.
98 Your commands are always with me
and make me wiser than my enemies.
99 I have more insight than all my teachers,
for I meditate on your statutes.
100 I have more understanding than the elders,
for I obey your precepts.
101 I have kept my feet from every evil path
so that I might obey your word.
102 I have not departed from your laws,
for you yourself have taught me.
103 How sweet are your words to my taste,
sweeter than honey to my mouth!
104 I gain understanding from your precepts;
therefore I hate every wrong path.
Psalm 119:97-104

How wise?  Wiser than his enemies (vs. 98).  Wiser than his teachers (vs. 99).  Wiser than those who have lived long lives (vs. 100).  Meditation on God’s word translates into a wisdom that is ahead of its time.

God’s word is also profitable for keeping on track and away from evil ways.  Those who dwell on the word of God find an understanding which keeps them close to God and away from falsehood and evil.

So what?  So what do you want in life?  I want to avoid mistakes which create trouble for me.  All mistakes help us learn.  Some mistakes create trouble and consequence that I would prefer to avoid.

I desire God’s wisdom to avoid those troubles.  And my reflection on God’s word every day helps me achieve my goal.  What’s your goal?

Are you willing to invest your time and thoughts on the word of God to accomplish your goal?

Taste and see that God’s word is sweeter than honey (vs. 103).

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

