Holy People


What do holy people do?  What do they not do?  In relationship with God through Jesus, my relationship is based on the presence of the Spirit who guides my behaviour.  In other words, my rules for life and my behaviour flow out of my relationship with God…

31 “You are to be my holy people.”
Exodus 22:31

In the giving of the law of God, Moses works through law by law, issue by issue, which creates some very interesting and sometimes dry sections of scripture.  For example, I don’t know any sorceresses, yet Exodus 22:18 requires that Israel would kill them if they were found.

Some of the laws make sense in a theocratic nation like Israel, while others make sense to all of us. Don’t take advantage of widows or the fatherless (vs. 22).  That makes sense to all of us.  So what is beneficial for me as the follower of Jesus?  What is required of me as a child of grace?

As I read Exodus 22:16-31 I am struck with themes of fairness, integrity, purity, and the importance of keeping God central on the throne of our lives.  “You are to be my holy people.”

What do holy people do?  What do they not do?  Of course, in relationship with God through Jesus, the rules (behaviour) are secondary to the relationship, and the relationship is based on the presence of the Spirit who guides behaviour.  In other words, my rules for behaviour flow out of my relationship with God.

Therefore, my treatment of relationships, my sex life, my worship, my community relationships, and my financial dealings, all covered by the laws in this chapter, are subject to the Spirit guiding me in holiness.

“You are to be my holy people.”

Wrestle with the question, are you listening to the Spirit’s guidance?  Are you living as God’s holy person?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

