Psalm 119 – Faithful Word


When the psalmist faces trouble in his world, he clings to the word of God. In contrast to the difficult circumstance and trial he faces, God’s word gives delight.  It’s true. It’s righteous.  And to find and rely on the truth is like a cool drink of water…

137 You are righteous, Lord,
and your laws are right.
138 The statutes you have laid down are righteous;
they are fully trustworthy.
139 My zeal wears me out,
for my enemies ignore your words.
140 Your promises have been thoroughly tested,
and your servant loves them.
141 Though I am lowly and despised,
I do not forget your precepts.
142 Your righteousness is everlasting
and your law is true.
143 Trouble and distress have come upon me,
but your commands give me delight.
144 Your statutes are always righteous;
give me understanding that I may live.
Psalm 119:137-144

Before God, I want to acknowledge that his teachings are right and trustworthy.  By saying so, I acknowledge that they ought to apply in my own life and guide my behaviour and response to the world.

The psalmist has zeal for the Lord, to the point that he is worn out – he will seemingly go to the end of the earth for God and his commands.  His enemies, on the other hand, ignore God’s word.  There is a hatred toward the psalmist and an ambivalence toward God’s word.

In spite of this response from the world, the psalmist clings to the word of God. In contrast to the trouble he faces in the world, God’s word gives delight.  It’s true. It’s righteous.  And when faced with unrighteousness, to find the truth is like a cool drink of water.

Is that how I view the word of God?  I often retreat into my own wisdom when confronted with the unrighteousness of the world or the attack of others.  I can show zeal – no shortage of passion there, yet it can be zeal for being right, which isn’t necessarily zeal for being righteous…

This is great encouragement to make God’s word my go-to when facing difficulty.  As the immovable, unchangeable, true north anchor, God’s word will always inform, guide, and strengthen me…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

