Psalm 119 – Near God Relationship


God is near, yet we often act as if he is far away.  He is the guest at every table.  He goes with us into our workplace and our school and our endeavors.  The Holy Spirit’s presence in our lives provides for this kind of relationship.  Be present with me today, Lord…

145 I call with all my heart; answer me, Lord,
and I will obey your decrees.
146 I call out to you; save me
and I will keep your statutes.
147 I rise before dawn and cry for help;
I have put my hope in your word.
148 My eyes stay open through the watches of the night,
that I may meditate on your promises.
149 Hear my voice in accordance with your love;
preserve my life, Lord, according to your laws.
150 Those who devise wicked schemes are near,
but they are far from your law.
151 Yet you are near, Lord,
and all your commands are true.
152 Long ago I learned from your statutes
that you established them to last forever.
Psalm 119:145-152

Our relationship with God is not fleeting; nor is it ad hoc.  It is not an emergency lever to pull in case of need.  God’s presence is consistent and faithful.  His care and concern is ongoing and based on his character and love for us and not on our faithfulness and response to him.  God’s love is unconditional toward the world.

The psalmist paints the picture of right relationship with the God who is always there and always available and always caring.  We can cry out to him day or night.  We can rely upon him and his word by always going to it – studying his word in the morning and in the evening.

God is near and is to be treated as if he is near.  We often act as if he is far away, yet he is the guest at every table.  He goes with us into our workplace and our school and our endeavors.

The Holy Spirit’s presence in our lives provides for this kind of relationship which the psalmist describes. 

God, be so close I can feel you today.
Guard my heart and mind as I trust you.
May I be a light of your love to those I meet,
So that they could see you, God, the way I see you.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

