Anointed


Is there anything in your life which is reserved for God only?  Anything that you offer to God yet keep from any other purpose or use?  Our redemption includes a restoration of purpose and meaning which should lead us to set ourselves apart as special unto God…

22 Then the Lord said to Moses, 23 “Take the following fine spices: 500 shekels of liquid myrrh, half as much (that is, 250 shekels) of fragrant cinnamon, 250 shekels of fragrant calamus, 24 500 shekels of cassia—all according to the sanctuary shekel—and a hin of olive oil. 25 Make these into a sacred anointing oil, a fragrant blend, the work of a perfumer. It will be the sacred anointing oil. 26 Then use it to anoint the tent of meeting, the ark of the covenant law, 27 the table and all its articles, the lampstand and its accessories, the altar of incense, 28 the altar of burnt offering and all its utensils, and the basin with its stand. 29 You shall consecrate them so they will be most holy, and whatever touches them will be holy.

30 “Anoint Aaron and his sons and consecrate them so they may serve me as priests. 31 Say to the Israelites, ‘This is to be my sacred anointing oil for the generations to come. 32 Do not pour it on anyone else’s body and do not make any other oil using the same formula. It is sacred, and you are to consider it sacred. 33 Whoever makes perfume like it and puts it on anyone other than a priest must be cut off from their people.’”
Exodus 30:22-33

The anointing oil God required for the tabernacle was special.  It was made of very certain spices and oils to God’s exact measurements in order to create his desired oil.  Everything related to service in the tent of meeting was anointed, including Aaron and his sons…

The kicker, however, was that God instructed that this oil be only for one purpose.  In fact, he called it sacred and instructed them to not make this oil for anything or anyone else or use it to anoint anything apart from the tabernacle.

Is there anything in your life which is reserved for God only?  Anything that you offer to God yet keep from any other purpose or use?  I am wondering because this Scripture is prompting me to consider that perhaps I fit God into my life rather than fashioning my life around my Lord.

If God is an addition to my life, he gets some of me.  He gets some of my day, some of my time, some of my money, some of my thoughts, or some of my effort.  If my life is structured around my Lord, however, he would get the best of my day and time, and the first of my money and thoughts, and all of my effort.

The idea that the anointing oil was only for God is an exclusivity which informs the way we follow Jesus.  We live in a world which is far less than anointed.  Fallen is the world.  Redemption, however, includes restoration of purpose and meaning.

As we approach today, will we set ourselves apart for God?  Will we reserve the best for God?  Our best?

Anoint us, oh Lord…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Exodus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

