Psalm 128 – Blessing Fruit for Reverent Following


The blessing of reverence and obedience in our relationship with God is that we eat of our labour.  There is a positive relationship between our reverence and obedience inputs and our blessing outputs.  Will this change the way I live today as a follower of Jesus?

1 Blessed are all who fear the Lord,
who walk in obedience to him.
2 You will eat the fruit of your labor;
blessings and prosperity will be yours.
3 Your wife will be like a fruitful vine
within your house;
your children will be like olive shoots
around your table.
4 Yes, this will be the blessing
for the man who fears the Lord.

5 May the Lord bless you from Zion;
may you see the prosperity of Jerusalem
all the days of your life.
6 May you live to see your children’s children—
peace be on Israel.
Psalm 128

The two instructions we see at the beginning of Psalm 128 are to fear and obey God.  Have reverence for the Lord and follow his instructions.  Well… I am not sure that fits my personality.  I don’t typically read instruction manuals and I live in an irreverent time and culture.   Chips are stacked against me.

Yet God is with me.

My desire to follow God’s ways is fueled by my reverence – my awesome respect – for the Lord.  When temptation comes my way I rely on God to keep me from falling.  He speaks to me and I choose (we have to choose) to listen.

I listen best first thing in the morning.  I have a harder time listening when I am tired, hungry, angry, or stressed.

The blessing of reverence and obedience in our relationship with God is that we eat of our labour.  There is a positive relationship between our reverence and obedience inputs and our blessing outputs.  Make sense?

The psalmist puts it in the context of the household for the most resonance.  Wives will be fruitful vines, children will be many, and parents will live to see grandchildren. In ancient times this was the cake and ice cream of life.

Most of us long for simple lives which go smoothly.  I can make no promises to you, yet God promises blessing when we fear and obey.  Have reverence and follow the Lord.

How will this change your day?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

