Psalm 130 – Crying out, Waiting for, and Receiving Giving Grace


I was asked for grace this week.  My response to the other person was, ‘Just as I have received grace, I turn to extend it to you also.’  No right to withhold it.  No value in holding grace back.  No need to wait for it.  Receive grace now and give it away…

1 Out of the depths I cry to you, Lord;
2 Lord, hear my voice.
Let your ears be attentive
to my cry for mercy.

3 If you, Lord, kept a record of sins,
Lord, who could stand?
4 But with you there is forgiveness,
so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

5 I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits,
and in his word I put my hope.
6 I wait for the Lord
more than watchmen wait for the morning,
more than watchmen wait for the morning.

7 Israel, put your hope in the Lord,
for with the Lord is unfailing love
and with him is full redemption.
8 He himself will redeem Israel
from all their sins.
Psalm 130

I am glad the Lord is there.  I am glad the Lord hears the cries of his people.  Particularly because even in best intentions and love for my brothers and sisters, my actions have an impact on others. Sometimes, my actions can be best-intended and values-based yet interpreted as hurtful and dis-respectful.

How about you?  Sometimes what is right for you is a burn for me. The bowl of life cherries is often full of pits.  Yet God is there.  He is attentive to our cries.  And not only attentive, God is gracious.

I was asked for grace this week.  My response to the other person was, ‘Just as I have received grace, I turn to extend it to you also.’  No right to withhold it.  No value in holding grace back.  God has decided to forgive me and separate me from my sin as far as east is from west.

My response – grace for you and reverence for God.  This is the best response and I wish it was my default.  I am, alas, not perfect, yet I strive to life my life according to Romans 12:1-2 – in view of God’s mercy.  In that view.

And so we wait on God.  Some wait for answers.  Some wait for clarity.  Some wait for relief.  No need to wait for grace.  Receive it now and give it now.

We shall put our hope in God – the God of unfailing love in whom there is full redemption.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

