Psalm 132 – Promises With God


Psalm 132 tells of David and God’s oaths to each other.  Our promise to God from dedicated hearts of adoration is turning outward toward our community to share the grace and love of Jesus.  And God’s promise to us is to be with us always in life and eternity…

1 Lord, remember David
and all his self-denial.

2 He swore an oath to the Lord,
he made a vow to the Mighty One of Jacob:
3 “I will not enter my house
or go to my bed,
4 I will allow no sleep to my eyes
or slumber to my eyelids,
5 till I find a place for the Lord,
a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.”

11 The Lord swore an oath to David,
a sure oath he will not revoke:
“One of your own descendants
I will place on your throne.
12 If your sons keep my covenant
and the statutes I teach them,
then their sons will sit
on your throne for ever and ever.”
Psalm 132:1-5, 11-12

David’s oath to God was based on his desire to build a temple for the Lord – he felt it wrong that he lived in a nice home of cedar, yet the Lord did not (2Samuel 7).  However worldly in his thinking, he was reverent in his intent.  God lives everywhere.  Yet he appreciates our adoration and dedication to him.

In fact, God responded to David’s heart with a promise to establish his throne and make his kingdom a dwelling place for David’s descendents.  This line, of course, includes King Jesus, who will reign forever on the throne established first through David.

So how dedicated am I to God?  Am I desiring to build anything for him or express my love in terms of a tangible impact?  God doesn’t need or want a physical temple anymore.  We are his temples.  So what would please the Lord like he was pleased with David?

Our gift to God from dedicated hearts of adoration is the fulfillment of God’s mission for us.  We turn outward toward our community to share the grace and love – the plan of redemption – with a needy world.  That’s our service to the Lord.

God has already promised to us that he will be with us always in Christ Jesus.  He is ever-present, and we are co-heirs with Jesus in eternity (Romans 8:17).  We inherit heaven in all its glory as accompany Jesus in his reign.  Our promise is set in the plans of God.

What is our plan? Will we build the family of God by sharing his love around us?

It’s time to commit.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.