Psalm 134 – Ministry Sheep


For many, doing the Lord’s work is an act of worship – yet worship of God outside of one’s function in the church is important.  When we lift up our hands to God, they should be open wide, not grasping earthly or church titles and authorities. For we are humble sheep.

1 Praise the Lord, all you servants of the Lord
who minister by night in the house of the Lord.
2 Lift up your hands in the sanctuary
and praise the Lord.
3 May the Lord bless you from Zion,
he who is the Maker of heaven and earth.
Psalm 134

This is a call to worship for the servants of the Lord.  These people make their living by serving God and leading ministry programs and services to connect us with God.  They are pastors and youth workers and children’s workers and administrative people who serve God by serving us all.  Their lives are set apart for this service, and often they make sacrifices to serve in terms of financial gain and nights out.

Some are tired and lonely and if we aren’t appreciating them and sharing the load with them, they can even begin to resent the ministry to which they are called.

The psalmist calls servants of the Lord to praise God and lift up their hands to him.  It is imperative for the servants of God to worship God.  Not only through their service – and I understand that doing work for the Lord is an act of worship – yet worship of God outside of one’s function in the church is healthy and important.

I had led our church’s worship ministry for more than a decade when I felt the need to step back and rejuvenate.  This was a few years ago now, and when I stepped back a very clear reality emerged.  It was like living out Matt Redman’s Heart of Worship – When the music fades, and all is stripped away, and I simply come…

To be free of the service ministry that had defined me for so many years left me with just me and God.  My closeness with God was no longer based or founded on my service.  I became a sheep again.  In fact, I didn’t even realize I was missing anything, and then when it was just me and the shepherd again, the trappings of leadership and service were revealed.

I am involved again in several areas of service, yet I watch to ensure they do not define me.  I am a sheep.  I hear the shepherd’s voice and I follow him.  I worship him.  I lift up my hands to him and they are open wide.  They do not grasp and hold tight to the badges and titles and authorities I carry on earth – even or especially in the church.

My hands are empty because when I worship, it is just me.  The sheep.

May you be blessed, minister of God.
May the Maker of heaven and earth bless you,
As you stop to worship with open hands,
As a humble sheep.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

