Psalm 138 – Worship God For Who He Is


In Psalm 138, David helps us recognize who God is, and we see that his name is associated with his expressions (God’s word).  His impact on the world strikes the hearts of kings; his concern for the world is felt the lowly – by you and me.  We worship this God of fullness…

1 I will give You thanks with all my heart;
I will sing praises to You before the gods.
2 I will bow down toward Your holy temple
And give thanks to Your name for Your lovingkindness and Your truth;
For You have magnified Your word according to all Your name.
3 On the day I called, You answered me;
You made me bold with strength in my soul.

4 All the kings of the earth will give thanks to You, O Lord,
When they have heard the words of Your mouth.
5 And they will sing of the ways of the Lord,
For great is the glory of the Lord.
6 For though the Lord is exalted,
Yet He regards the lowly,
But the haughty He knows from afar.

7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, You will revive me;
You will stretch forth Your hand against the wrath of my enemies,
And Your right hand will save me.
8 The Lord will accomplish what concerns me;
Your lovingkindness, O Lord, is everlasting;
Do not forsake the works of Your hands.
Psalm 138

David sings out to God for his lovingkindness and his truth.  The word of God is magnified in this psalm and it is connected to God’s name.  This is interesting to me.  When Moses had the glory of God pass in front of him in Exodus 34, God would only reveal himself to Moses as he proclaimed his name.

The name of God is inextricably connected to his word and his glory and every other part of who God is.  We cannot break God apart. We must worship God in totality. In his fullness.  This is the God who answers when we call.  He gives us boldness and strengthens our souls.

This is the God who is great, yet who regards the lowly people on the streets of the world.  Kings will give thanks to him for his words, yet the lowly and humble will be on God’s mind always.

David relies on god to revive and protect him, and he calls on God to be who he is.  He cries, Do not forsake the works of your hands, God.

Indeed.  We worship you for who you are and we ask you to be who you are, God.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

