Psalm 139 – Full Life Scan


God searches and knows everything about us.  Everywhere we go and everything we do is under the gaze of the Lord.  He perceives our thoughts from afar and even before a word is on our tongues, God knows what we are going to say.  Let me tell you why this is good…

1 You have searched me, Lord,
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you, Lord, know it completely.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.
Psalm 139:1-6

Here is something that is too wonderful for us.  It is too high an idea to even contemplate, yet we are going to try, okay? God searches us and he knows us.  You know those full body scanners at the airport.  Have you been in one of those?  I have, and one time I was randomly selected for special treatment, the security person asked me, “What’s in your left front pocket?”

Nothing.  I didn’t have anything in my pocket – my cell phone and keys and change were all where they should have been.  This isn’t my first TSA rodeo, buckeroo.  I know the drill.  She was insistent.  “There is a small object in your front left pocket.”

I checked.

It was a chiclet of gum.  Tiny little thing which isn’t threatening homeland security or anything else.  The biggest threat of that little chiclet’s life is if Lucy doesn’t find it before she washes my pants.  Then it’s a threat.  Otherwise, gimme a break.  It’s a chiclet of gum.

The scanner can tell them if you’re circumcised.  It knows everything about you.  Except what’s going on in your heart and mind.  TSA can’t scan that, can they?  God can.  God does.

God searches and knows everything about us.  Everywhere we go and everything we do is under the gaze of the Lord.  He perceives our thoughts from afar and even before a word is on the tip of our tongues, God knows what we are going to say.

Now here’s the good part.  It’s good because I can promise you we would not do what God does.  If you knew all my thoughts and comings and goings, you would judge me.  And I would judge you. You might not be my friend.  You might not hire me. And you certainly wouldn’t marry me or trust me with your life.  And I’m not a bad guy.  It’s that we are protected from knowing all that because we aren’t able to handle it.  We would mishandle it.

So here’s the good part.  Even though God knows all of this about us as his children, he still hems us in behind and before to protect us, and he lays his hand of guidance and blessing and goodness upon us.

Even though we are all who we are.  Even though he sees the results of the full-life-scan every day of our lives even before it plays out.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for us.  It’s a mind blower.

Give thanks.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

