Psalm 139 – God’s Presence: Inescapable & Trustworthy


Yesterday I reflected on God’s presence as he descended on the tabernacle. God’s presence signaled Israel to settle and to move.  In Psalm 139, God’s presence is inescapable.  This is an encouragement and is also a reminder of our Spirit conscience…

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.
Psalm 139:7-12

We cannot escape the presence of the Holy Spirit.  Even if we wanted to flee we cannot. If we go up to the heavens, he is there.  In the depths of the sea and the earth, he is there.

God ushers in the dawn and he is Lord of the mighty sea.  Wherever we go, his hand is there to guide us.  No wonder Solomon, perhaps reading of his father David’s blessed writings, encouraged us to lean not on our own understanding, but rather: trust in the Lord (Proverbs 4:5-6).

The one who is there at our side will guide and direct and hold us fast.  He will make our paths straight.  Even when we see darkness moving in and have trouble finding our ways, the darkness is as light to him.  It shines like the day in God’s perspective.

And so we ought to trust his perspective.  We ought to look to his guidance in the dark times.  We ought to allow his hand to hold us as we walk through the challenges of life.

From his view, he can see the end of the path. He knows the way.  He is present and caring and trustworthy.

Guide on, present Lord.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

