Psalm 139 – Knit Together


He knit us together. We are woven in his hands in the secret place.  We respond with praise and amazement because we recognize that God’s works are wonderful and miraculous.  We cannot fathom the intricate detail of the creation of a living being…

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.
Psalm 139:13-18

God searches us and knows us (Psalm  139:1-6). We cannot escape his presence (Psalm 139:7-12).  In fact, we are intimately known by God because he is the author of our lives and each breath we take.

He knit us together. We are woven in his hands in the secret place.  We respond with praise and amazement because we recognize that God’s works are wonderful and miraculous.  We cannot fathom the intricate detail of the creation of a living being.

As he formed us, God also sees our lives from the perspective of eternity. Our experience of days of time are viewed from eternity and God sees each one and all of them written in his book.  Is this the same book that God will open in Revelation 20 when we meet for Judgment?

Your thoughts – your perspective, oh God – are beyond understanding, and it is precious to even be counted as one of your thoughts.  That you consider me and took time and care and pride to form me is too much to understand.

Yet when I awake, you are still with me.  In spite of my understanding of your greatness and the breadth and depth of your power and creativity, you are still there with me and for me.  The intimacy of creation of my being carries forward into presence and relationship all the days of my life.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

