Psalm 140 – God’s Provision and My Part


As David cries out to God, he affirms that God cares for the poor and needy and provides security and justice for them.  As I reflect on these truths, I wonder what role I play.  I wonder whether God’s provision for those in need could happen through me today…

4 Keep me safe, Lord, from the hands of the wicked;
protect me from the violent,
who devise ways to trip my feet.
5 The arrogant have hidden a snare for me;
they have spread out the cords of their net
and have set traps for me along my path.
6 I say to the Lord, “You are my God.”
Hear, Lord, my cry for mercy.

12 I know that the Lord secures justice for the poor
and upholds the cause of the needy.
13 Surely the righteous will praise your name,
and the upright will live in your presence.
Psalm 140:4-6, 12-13

When we feel under attack and persecution, we cry out to God for mercy.  Hear our cry, Lord.  Pastor Wes was encouraging us from Joseph’s story last Sunday and how even when we feel forgotten by God, that he hasn’t moved.  Sometimes we have…

We should know that the Lord secures justice for the poor and upholds the cause of the needy.  We should know it.  Yet we forget.  And if we are poor and needy, sometimes we think that no one cares – not even God.

Well, I might be needy, yet in suburban Vancouver I am by no means poor.  I have a warm home and food on the table. So let’s turn the tables.  What have I done to help the poor and needy to feel like God is upholding their cause?  Could I be an expression of God’s love and provision for those less fortunate than me?

What part of living in God’s presence could I exemplify by being the hands and feet of Jesus to those in need around me.  Sounds like a Christmas message.  Rather than focusing on the gifts we get, what about the gifts we give? 

May I show your love, God,
To those in need around me,
So that as they cry out to you,
They might praise you for being their security…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

