Victorious Living


Are you living a victorious life?  This approach to living isn’t dependent on whether you are winning.  It is, however, rooted in our understanding of God’s presence, his power, and his relationship to the world in which we live.  I’m going to live differently today as a result…

4 You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.
1John 4:4

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33

Victorious living depends, not on circumstances which are favourable or fortuitous, but on our recognition of the power of God within us.  The world has a lot to throw at us and there is good reason for us to turtle and cuddle up in a warm blanket.  Yet if we can understand and connect with the presence of God in our lives, we will respond differently.

Psalm 118:24 reads, “This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.”

When we are walking with the Lord who has overcome the world – the one who is greater than the spirits and antichrists of the world, we can rejoice in every day God grants us.  Our attitude and response to the world should be dependent on God and not on the world. 

What would today look like if every response from my lips was formulated through the reality of my confidence in God within me?  Think of what that would do to my anger, my jealousy, my bitterness, and so on…

I actually think I am more useful to everyone in the world if I can live the victorious life of an overcomer in Jesus.  How about you?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in 1John and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Victorious Living

  1. Elaine says:

    Just what I needed to meditate on this morning, Marc! Feeling blue with a sinus infection and faced with having to deal with some conflict today, I did just want to “turtle” … yup, it makes a huge difference! This IS the day the Lord has made. And He grants peace and power. Thank you for reminding me of reality.

Leave a Reply

