Godaware


How would life change if we believed God was aware of everything we do and think and say? Even as I attempt to live a life of integrity before God and my neighbour already, the reality of God’s view of my every thought and word and action is a gamechanger…

1 In the sixth year, in the sixth month on the fifth day, while I was sitting in my house and the elders of Judah were sitting before me, the hand of the Sovereign Lord came on me there. 2 I looked, and I saw a figure like that of a man. From what appeared to be his waist down he was like fire, and from there up his appearance was as bright as glowing metal. 3 He stretched out what looked like a hand and took me by the hair of my head. The Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven and in visions of God he took me to Jerusalem, to the entrance of the north gate of the inner court, where the idol that provokes to jealousy stood. 4 And there before me was the glory of the God of Israel, as in the vision I had seen in the plain.

6 And he said to me, “Son of man, do you see what they are doing—the utterly detestable things the Israelites are doing here, things that will drive me far from my sanctuary? But you will see things that are even more detestable.”

12 He said to me, “Son of man, have you seen what the elders of Israel are doing in the darkness, each at the shrine of his own idol? They say, ‘The Lord does not see us; the Lord has forsaken the land.’” 13 Again, he said, “You will see them doing things that are even more detestable.”

18 Therefore I will deal with them in anger; I will not look on them with pity or spare them. Although they shout in my ears, I will not listen to them.”
Ezekiel 8:1-4, 6, 12-13, 18

When Ezekiel was taken into a vision of the Lord, God showed him all the things Israel was doing which are detestable to God.  In summary, Israel was practicing idolatry with man-made object-gods and also worshiping nature (bowing down to the sun).  What catches my attention in the middle of the vision, however, is what the elders of Israel say about God.

“They say, ‘The Lord does not see us; the Lord has forsaken the land.’”  The Lord does not see.  Have you ever thought about whether your life is visible to the God who made the heavens and the earth and… you?  If God does not see what we do and who we are when no one is watching, then we have much freedom to do as we please.

If God doesn’t see, then we can choose when we are following his ways and when we choose to do as we please with little consequence.  Most of the world doesn’t care if God sees or not, and moreover they do not believe that the living God sees anything they do, hears what they say, or perceives what is on their hearts.

Christian, beware.  This philosophy of life is not a winner.  It’s a troublesome road to go down, and it denies the power of God and his concern for our lives.

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.
Hebrews 4:13

How would our lives change if every morning we woke up and believed with all our hearts that Hebrews 4:13 was true?  Would that change my life?  Certainly.  Even as I attempt to live a life of integrity before God and my neighbour already, the reality of God’s view of my every thought and word and action would enhance my accountability to my Lord.

Today is the day to change the way we think.
Live as if God is watching.
And life with the power that Jesus is with us everywhere we go.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

