Eating the Fruit of My Ways


As we have seen so many times before with the Lord, there are limits to his patience and forebearance.  It is still infinite compared to my own, yet for my own good, God will let me bear the consequences of my waywardness.  That’s called eating the fruit of my ways…

My son, if sinful men entice you, do not give in to them.  These men lie in wait for their own blood; they ambush only themselves!  Such are the paths of all who go after ill-gotten gain; it takes away the life of those who get it.  “How long will you who are simple love your simple ways? How long will mockers delight in mockery and fools hate knowledge?  But since you refuse to listen when I call and no one pays attention when I stretch out my hand,  since you disregard all my advice and do not accept my rebuke,  “Then they will call to me but I will not answer; they will look for me but will not find me,  since they hated knowledge and did not choose to fear the Lord .  Since they would not accept my advice and spurned my rebuke,  they will eat the fruit of their ways and be filled with the fruit of their schemes.  but whoever listens to me will live in safety and be at ease, without fear of harm.”
Proverbs 1:10, 18-19, 22, 24-25, 28-31, 33

We will eat of the fruit of our ways.  We will be filled with the fruit of our schemes. Paul writes in Galatians 6:7 that God cannot be mocked. A person will reap what he sows.  And that’s the gist of it, isn’t it?

We sleep in the beds we lie in and often have the gall to then complain that God hasn’t rescued us.  We mock God on the path to where we desire to go and then we blame him when we don’t like our destination.

Is there any evidence in your life that you are mocking God in your actions?  We ought to choose, rather, to listen to God and find the ease of mind and heart which he offers to his eager audience.  It’s there for the taking…

The fruit of our ways can be a blessing to eat if it is the Lord who sets the table. And that’s the frame around our picture – God has riches of contentment and satisfaction for us at his table.  He is inviting us to eat of his wisdom and knowledge.

Are you hungry?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

