On-Mission


Nothing was going to get in the way of his mission.  He prayed, “Not my will, but yours be done,” to his Father in heaven.  In his humanity Jesus struggled with needing to die, yet he knew why he came, he knew what his job was, and he stayed committed to the mission…

32 That evening after sunset the people brought to Jesus all the sick and demon-possessed. 33 The whole town gathered at the door, 34 and Jesus healed many who had various diseases. He also drove out many demons, but he would not let the demons speak because they knew who he was.

35 Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. 36 Simon and his companions went to look for him, 37 and when they found him, they exclaimed: “Everyone is looking for you!”

38 Jesus replied, “Let us go somewhere else—to the nearby villages—so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.”
Mark 1:32-38

This morning I am going to do some teambuilding with a group I absolutely love – this is a great team of people who are passionate for the mission of their organization and I desire to inspire them to greater achievement as a team.  So this is what I am starting with.  Mark 1:32-38.  Why?  Because this is where Jesus taught me that the mission is the most important thing.

Jesus’ mission was so important to him that he actually let himself be arrested, beaten, and executed to see it through.  Remember in the Garden of Gethsemane when Jesus admitted that he was who they were looking to arrest?  They all fell down.  He could have commanded an army of angels to come to his aid, yet he did not.  Jesus came to share the good news of God’s plan of mercy for all people.  And then he became the sacrifice to guarantee that mercy on my life and yours.

Nothing was going to get in the way of his mission.  He prayed, “Not my will, but yours be done,” to his Father in heaven.  In his humanity Jesus struggled with needing to die, yet he knew why he came, he knew what his job was, and he stayed committed to the mission.

In Mark 1, we find Jesus in the solitary place of prayer, filling his spiritual tank and communing with his Father.  This is a pattern for Jesus’ in his earthly life.  It would be a good pattern for you and me to live every day.  And they were looking for him.  Who? Everyone.  Why?  Because he was healing people in the town, and when news spreads that there is a healer curing the sick and hurting and demon-possessed, they flock to get some.

We all need some healing and Jesus is the healer.  And so he healed many of them.  Many.  It is interesting to me that he didn’t heal them all.  Every person with any ailment in every town Jesus went to could have been healed, yet not everyone was.  How could that be? How could a loving God-in-the-flesh miss some people who needed his healing touch?

It is because the mission was more important that their need.  Jesus said, “Let us go somewhere else—to the nearby villages—so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.”  Jesus shows us a clarity of mission which all of us lack at one time or another.  We put so many things in our own way that it’s a wonder that we ever contribute to our mission in life.

Organizations and teams have missions to impact.  They may or may not be connected to Jesus.

The mission Jesus left us with, however, is to make disciples of the nations.  Read Matthew 28 for the whole story.  Make disciples.  There is not time this morning to expand too much on this, yet it is important to share that making disciples is a process of doing life together so that a person can encounter the life-changing power of Jesus through you.

And if my mission is to do life together with others so that they encounter the life-changing power of Jesus through me, I better turn off my TV.  I better share my time more with others.  I better start inviting people into my life.  And if that means that some other people who want my time for some ‘good thing’ are going to be disappointed, maybe that’s fine.  Maybe that’s entirely on-mission…

Lord Jesus, I want to be like you.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Mark and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

