Dross or Gold


Dross.  It’s what is left when the previous metals are melted out of the rocks placed in the refiner’s furnace.  Any gold or silver in my life is God empowering me to bring glory back to him.  I want to redeem my time to produce something precious…

Then the word of the Lord came to me: “Son of man, the people of Israel have become dross to me; all of them are the copper, tin, iron and lead left inside a furnace. They are but the dross of silver. Therefore this is what the Sovereign Lord says: ‘Because you have all become dross, I will gather you into Jerusalem. As silver, copper, iron, lead and tin are gathered into a furnace to be melted with a fiery blast, so will I gather you in my anger and my wrath and put you inside the city and melt you. I will gather you and I will blow on you with my fiery wrath, and you will be melted inside her. As silver is melted in a furnace, so you will be melted inside her, and you will know that I the Lord have poured out my wrath on you.’ ”
Ezekiel 22:17-22

12 If anyone builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, 13 their work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each person’s work. 14 If what has been built survives, the builder will receive a reward. 15 If it is burned up, the builder will suffer loss but yet will be saved—even though only as one escaping through the flames.
1Corinthians 3:12-15

Israel had become dross to God in the time of Ezekiel.  The sad part is that this was the Apple of God’s eye.  Israel was the chosen nation of God’s children and now they had departed from his ways.

We will be refined in the fire of God in our lives following Jesus.  Our work on earth will be burned up to see what remains.  This might be a wake up call too late for the followers of Jesus.  When we see the refiner’s furnace, there will be no time left to make changes in our lives.

Israel had the opportunity as a people to repent and serve God after the fulfillment of Ezekiel’s prophecy.  Their story continues.  And our story is now. Although we face the testing of our lives and works at the final day, we have time now to respond to the advanced warning of God to live a life worthy of the calling we have received (Ephesians 4:1).

If my life met the refining furnace of God today, what would happen?  The answer to that question is the reflection I need to make changes to my life. I don’t want to be counted as dross.  I want my response to God’s grace to be a precious metal in the kingdom of God.  I don’t want this for my glory.  I desire for God to be glorified.

Any gold or silver in my life is God empowering me to bring glory back to him.  The selfish or self-centered path of life might be polished enough on earth to fool my friends and neighbours, yet it won’t pass the test of the refiner’s furnace.  It will be as dross in the flames.

Reflect on your life and listen to the Spirit today.  What is he saying about your life?  Are you producing gold or dross?  Your story continues to unfold.  Redeem your time for the kingdom. .

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

