Good Shepherding II


Have you heard the voice of the Good Shepherd?  Do you know that voice as the voice of Jesus?  He wants to shepherd you and me and bring justice and care to our fields.  He has laid down his life for you and me. Praise God for sending the Good Shepherd for us…

17 “‘As for you, my flock, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will judge between one sheep and another, and between rams and goats. 18 Is it not enough for you to feed on the good pasture? Must you also trample the rest of your pasture with your feet? Is it not enough for you to drink clear water? Must you also muddy the rest with your feet? 19 Must my flock feed on what you have trampled and drink what you have muddied with your feet?

20 “‘Therefore this is what the Sovereign Lord says to them: See, I myself will judge between the fat sheep and the lean sheep. 21 Because you shove with flank and shoulder, butting all the weak sheep with your horns until you have driven them away, 22 I will save my flock, and they will no longer be plundered. I will judge between one sheep and another. 23 I will place over them one shepherd, my servant David, and he will tend them; he will tend them and be their shepherd. 24 I the Lord will be their God, and my servant David will be prince among them. I the Lord have spoken.

31 You are my sheep, the sheep of my pasture, and I am your God, declares the Sovereign Lord.’”
Ezekiel 34:17-24, 31

14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.
John 10:14-15

Yesterday while studying Ezekiel 34, the focus was on shepherding and how we can care for the lambs of God.  Today we read on and see that among sheep there is some behaviour which needs to be corrected.

For some sheep, it isn’t enough to feed on good pasture themselves, they also want to trample the rest of the pasture so that it is unfit for the other sheep.  They muddy the water after drinking it, so that the next sheep cannot enjoy a refreshing drink. Some sheep go even further, butting the weaker sheep with their horns to drive them away. It can be dog-eat-dog in the world of sheep.

Unfortunately, this talk of sheep resonates with our experience in life, doesn’t it? Some people take everything for themselves and when they are done, there is nothing suitable left for others.  Like schoolyard bullies, some butt heads to push others out in fear.  We are left with an unsafe place and an oppressed life.  Perish the thought that you and I might actually be the cause of this situation for others.  This should be a wake up call.

God sees our situation.  In Ezekiel’s time, God made a promise to Israel that he would give them a shepherd – one shepherd – and he would tend to them.  God refers to him as David, who was long dead at this point.  King David died around 970 BC, in while Ezekiel lived in the 500’s BC.

This is not King David. No. Rather, this is the one who is prophesied to come and take up the throne of David forever (Psalm 132, Isaiah 9).  Messiah will shepherd the sheep to help them in their need.

Cut to Jesus’ declaration in John 10.  Jesus is the Good Shepherd. He knows his sheep, his sheep know him, and he lays his life down for his sheep to protect them.  He is committed.  That all would have pasture to enjoy and clean water to drink.  The injustices that exist from self-centred shepherds (see yesterday) and from the survival of the fittest mentality of sheep toward other sheep will be dealt with by the shepherd who will bring justice (Ezekiel 34:16).

Have you heard the voice of the Good Shepherd?  Do you know that voice as the voice of Jesus?  He wants to shepherd you and me and bring justice and care to our fields.  He has laid down his life for you and me. Praise God for sending the Good Shepherd for us…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

