Mouth Running


Someone gonna get a hurt on real bad.  The lips of fools bring them strife and their mouths invite a beating.  Yup. That’s in the Bible.  Solomon knew what time it was.  We’ve all wanted to clock someone who was running their mouth.  Confession: I used to be that guy.

2 Fools find no pleasure in understanding
but delight in airing their own opinions.

6 The lips of fools bring them strife,
and their mouths invite a beating.
7 The mouths of fools are their undoing,
and their lips are a snare to their very lives.

13 To answer before listening—
that is folly and shame.
Proverbs 17:2, 6-7, 13

19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.
James 1:19

Do you know someone who loves the sound of their own voice?  They won’t ask for your opinions, yet they are overflowing with their own. These folks are out there, and perhaps the lesson is watch out: don’t become the fool who can’t hold his tongue.

I love that Solomon understands that running one’s mouth invites a beating.  Someone gonna get a hurt on real bad. Many years ago, I had a rude and foul mouth.  There were some people who worked with me who got pretty close to laying one on me.  I didn’t even realize how inappropriate I was being.  I was a fool.

One of those fellows does business with me at work now, thirty years later.  I am thankful that he sees that I have changed.  And that he doesn’t hold my old ways against me.

We should be quick to listen and slow to speak.  We ought to consider that others’ opinions could expand our horizons and pour into our lives.  And when we encounter the fools, we should resist the temptation of violence.  Maybe we should hold out hope that they will turn over a new leaf over the next thirty years…

Thankful for mercy.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

