Lost Keys Lost Coin Lost Souls


Have you ever lost anything important? I still remember my buddy losing his car keys in a lake – we were an hour’s drive from home… After much diving and praying, we finally found the keys on the bottom – I can tell you we were pretty thankful and excited…

8 “Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Doesn’t she light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it? 9 And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’ 10 In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”
Luke 15:8-10

Jesus used the parable of the lost coin to share with his followers that each one of us is important to God.  In fact, we are so important that he looks for us and searches us out until he finds us, like something he has lost.

Have you ever lost anything important? I still remember the time we went swimming with some friends in a lake, and my buddy tied his pants around the rope at the edge of the swimming area (we didn’t have swimsuits).  When we went back to get his pants, the car keys had fallen out down to the bottom of the lake.  Important thing lost…

After much diving and praying, I finally found the keys.  I dove down to the point of the drop-off under the rope and opened up my eyes to find the keys right in front of my face.  I can tell you, when I hit the surface of the water with those keys in my hand, I was rejoicing. I was yelling with success!

That’s what Jesus was talking about.  Heaven goes nuts when a single person turns away from sin and toward God in faith.  That’s how precious we are.  That’s how much you matter to God…

Jesus was talking to the self-righteous religious folks who didn’t think they were lost.  They thought they had it all together. They didn’t think they needed Jesus. They weren’t lost. Is that how you feel?  Because that’s a problem.

Think about it.  God thinks you matter to him so much that he will hunt for you everywhere to rescue you. And you think you are already found and don’t need a rescue.  Do you see how this created conflict between the religious and Jesus? The first step of relationship with God is realizing we need something we don’t have, and that’s relationship with God.

God offers relationship through his son, Jesus, who came to seek and save sinners (Luke 19:10, 1Timothy 1:15).   And when we realize that’s us, and that we are the lost coin he is looking for, we have a chance at that precious relationship with God, and we have the chance to make heaven cheer and celebrate when we are found by the Lord.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Luke and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

