Willing or Unwilling?


Whom do you turn to when you need help?  It could be your own wisdom. It could be your friend’s counsel.  You could be using your wealth to insulate yourself and to solve your problems.  God desires for us to turn to him and longs to help us if we are simply willing

13 Woe to them,
because they have strayed from me!
Destruction to them,
because they have rebelled against me!
I long to redeem them
but they speak about me falsely.
14 They do not cry out to me from their hearts
but wail on their beds.
They slash themselves, appealing to their gods
for grain and new wine,
but they turn away from me.
Hosea 7:13-14

37 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing.
Matthew 23:37

Ephraim, one of the tribes of Israel, is spoken of by God through the prophet Hosea.  And we can see ourselves in God’s words, when we stray from him and then stand off, unwilling to return.  How many times have I been this person?

Rebelling against God, I call destruction and consequence upon myself, and God longs to redeem me.  God longs to bring me back.  Yet I know better.  I convince myself of things which aren’t even true about God.  God didn’t mean that.  God didn’t actually say this.

Rather than returning to the God who made me and knows me and wants me as his own, I wail and complain about my circumstances, and I appeal to my gods… who are your gods?  Whom do you turn to when you need help?  It could be your own wisdom. It could be your friend’s counsel.  You could be using your wealth to insulate yourself and to solve your problems.

When we rely on things other than God, we have made those things the gods to whom we turn.

And God, all the while, longs for us to be, as Jesus says, willing

Would you be willing to turn to God today?  Would you be willing to stop turning to your own gods and turn to the one true God? He cares. He is waiting. He is longing to help you.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Hosea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

