Judging God Under Siege


Woe is me.  Do you ever judge God and his action or inaction based on your own wisdom? Bad things are God’s fault, right? Mmmm… Instead, shouldn’t we seek God’s face, his perspective, and be thankful for any and all mercy received from his hand? 

26 As the king of Israel was passing by on the wall, a woman cried to him, “Help me, my lord the king!”

27 The king replied, “If the Lord does not help you, where can I get help for you? From the threshing floor? From the winepress?” 28 Then he asked her, “What’s the matter?”

She answered, “This woman said to me, ‘Give up your son so we may eat him today, and tomorrow we’ll eat my son.’ 29 So we cooked my son and ate him. The next day I said to her, ‘Give up your son so we may eat him,’ but she had hidden him.”

1 Elisha replied, “Hear the word of the Lord. This is what the Lord says: About this time tomorrow, a seah of the finest flour will sell for a shekel and two seahs of barley for a shekel at the gate of Samaria.”
2Kings 6:26-29, 7:1

There was a famine in Samaria and a siege under the Arameans which made the Israelites so desperate that some even resorted to cannibalism.  The king was so broken by this that he went to Elisha to demand answers.  It’s a shame that the king let things go this far before inquiring of God.  His approach was spiteful toward the Lord…

It is human nature to be demanding of God when we see injustice and tragedy.  We are hardly ever demanding of ourselves, however, when we are disobedient and flaunting our sin in God’s face.  Instead, we ask, where was God when these women planned this terrible act?  Where was God to protect his people?  We blame God for the Arameans.  Bad things are God’s fault and good things are our accomplishments…

This paradox plays out across scripture and into today. When I sin, I seek to justify my behaviour and explain it away.  I don’t accept that I ought to bear the responsibility or consequence.  That doesn’t cross my mind…

Elisha the prophet told the king that within a day, there would be an abundance of food.  And if you read chapter 7, you will find that God sent the sound of horses and chariots to the camp of the Arameans.  Just the sound.  The Arameans thought the Hittites had come to Israel’s aid and they fled.

Israel found their camp full of supplies and nourishments.

God provided.  Even though the king went to blame God.  Woe is me.  I, like you, often judge God and his action or inaction based on my own wisdom.  Instead I should seek God’s face, his perspective, and be thankful for any and all mercy received from his hand…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in 2Kings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

