God of Constellations


As I arise today, I encounter the God who made Pleiades and Orion. It is easy to take for granted that we are communicating with that Almighty One who made the heavens and the earth.  I am in awe that He would turn his attention toward humble me…

8 He who made the Pleiades and Orion,
who turns midnight into dawn
and darkens day into night,
who calls for the waters of the sea
and pours them out over the face of the land—
the Lord is his name.
Amos 5:8

The architect of constellations is hearkening to my voice as I speak to him.  He is the master of the sunrise and the sunset, keeping this orb spinning through space. He commands the oceans and they answer his call.  The Lord is his name.

It is easy to take for granted that we are communicating with that Almighty One.  We can easily take up a cavalier attitude toward God, even though we are like mist in a moment and he is the eternal one.  Our needs and wants appear petty when compared with creating and holding together galaxies.

And so I come humble before you, Lord.  I am in awe of your greatness, and amazed that you are interested in me.  I am astounded that you would consider working in me, with that power that is able to do immeasurably more than anything I can dream of or ask of you (Ephesians 3:20).

God, would you, therefore, step in and intervene?  Would you work in the lives of those I love?  The ones who believe they are fine without you… the ones who are realizing they need you and your people… the ones who are over their heads and ill-equipped for the challenges they face…  the ones who are chased by dragons of illness.

Help me, Almighty God, to always bring them to you.  You are the one who can change any circumstance. You change the moment.  We think we can fix things, yet you transform.  We need you, oh Lord. 

We turn toward you and away from our own power today…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Amos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

