Grace Snobs


Let me help you.  You fall short.  I fall short. Some have fallen short in ways which are socially and societally reprehensible.  If God’s grace is sufficient for me, it is sufficient for thee.  If I am covered, then you can be covered.  Today we learn we can’t be grace snobs… 

1 But to Jonah this seemed very wrong, and he became angry. 2 He prayed to the Lord, “Isn’t this what I said, Lord, when I was still at home? That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity. 3 Now, Lord, take away my life, for it is better for me to die than to live.”

4 But the Lord replied, “Is it right for you to be angry?”
Jonah 4:1-4

Jonah was angry because God was compassionate on the Ninevites who had turned away from their sin.  It seemed wrong to Jonah.  Some people are too bad to turn toward God.  Is that how you feel?  Some people don’t deserve the grace of God.  They are too far gone, right?  Too bad.  Too evil.  Have done too much damage.  There is no turning back and furthermore, there is a special place in hell for them.  Anyone coming to mind?

Is it right to be angry about those people receiving God’s grace?

I know, you feel justified because they have murdered or raped or done whatever the unpardonable sin is in your mind.  I get it.  We want to take personal vengeance out on certain people for certain sins.  Remember that the Apostle Paul was a Christian hunter before he turned his life over to Jesus.  He put Christians in jail and held the coats of people who beat and killed Christians.

I sure am thankful that God showed Paul grace and that he received it.  He wasn’t too far gone.  Sure, the followers of Jesus had a hard time with it when Paul turned to Christ.  In Acts 9, Paul tries to join them and they are afraid of him.  Barnabas has to vouch for Paul in order for them to believe that he won’t hurt them.

Look in the mirror.  Do you measure up to God’s expectations?  Do you fulfill the law of Moses?  How about the law of Jesus?  Do you love God and love your neighbour as yourself?  All the time?  Or do you fall short?

Let me help you.  You fall short.  I fall short. Some of us have fallen short in ways which are socially and societally reprehensible.  If his grace is sufficient for me, it is sufficient for thee.  If I am covered, then you can be covered.  We all fall short of the glory of God and we are all eligible for the grace of God.

How about instead of being angry that your personal Ninevites are turning to God, you start praying that they will turn to God?  Live a life worthy of the grace you have received, Christian.  And recognize that there is enough to go around…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Jonah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

