Pursuing


What are you pursuing in life? Take some time today to reflect upon that which you are pursuing. What has your heart?  Have you thought about pursuing God?  Have you considered pursuing the Word of God?  That’s what God wants for each of us…

1 Moses and the elders of Israel commanded the people: “Keep all these commands that I give you today. 2 When you have crossed the Jordan into the land the Lord your God is giving you, set up some large stones and coat them with plaster. 3 Write on them all the words of this law when you have crossed over to enter the land the Lord your God is giving you, a land flowing with milk and honey, just as the Lord, the God of your ancestors, promised you.”
Deuteronomy 27:1-3

31 Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”
John 8:31-32

9 How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
By living according to your word.
10 I seek you with all my heart;
do not let me stray from your commands.
11 I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.
12 Praise be to you, Lord;
teach me your decrees.
13 With my lips I recount
all the laws that come from your mouth.
14 I rejoice in following your statutes
as one rejoices in great riches.
15 I meditate on your precepts
and consider your ways.
16 I delight in your decrees;
I will not neglect your word.
Psalm 119:9-16

These passages speak for themselves.  I think it’s best if I ask a simple question: How are you keeping God’s word before you?

There is freedom in God’s word.  There is a life free of the burdens of sin in his words.  There is an advantage in life because you will know the truth of God.  As we see in John 14:6, Jesus is the truth. And so as we pursue God’s word, we pursue Jesus.  As we pursue Jesus, we pursue the truth of God.

We have the blessing and opportunity to meditate, study, and delight in the precepts of God.  God has provided his truth and the characteristics of his holiness in the teaching of his word and through his Son, the Lord Jesus.

Do you pursue the Word of God?  Are you pursuing Jesus?  Take some time today to reflect upon that which you are pursuing. What has your heart?  Perhaps write down those pursuits.  Lay them out before God.

And then ask God to guide you by his Holy Spirit to submit your pursuits to the pursuit of Jesus, who is the truth.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Deuteronomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

