Priest Clothed in Majesty


Why do we ever disobey and frustrate the love of our God for us? He loves us more than we could ever understand.  And so I am asking myself, is Jesus clothed with majesty in my life?  Is he honoured and glorified in me as his temple?  Today I choose to recommit.

1 I looked again, and there before me was a flying scroll.

3 And he said to me, “This is the curse that is going out over the whole land; for according to what it says on one side, every thief will be banished, and according to what it says on the other, everyone who swears falsely will be banished. 4 The Lord Almighty declares, ‘I will send it out, and it will enter the house of the thief and the house of anyone who swears falsely by my name. It will remain in that house and destroy it completely, both its timbers and its stones.’”

5 Then the angel who was speaking to me came forward and said to me, “Look up and see what is appearing.”

6 I asked, “What is it?”

He replied, “It is a basket.” And he added, “This is the iniquity of the people throughout the land.”

10 “Where are they taking the basket?” I asked the angel who was speaking to me.

11 He replied, “To the country of Babylonia to build a house for it. When the house is ready, the basket will be set there in its place.”

11 Take the silver and gold and make a crown, and set it on the head of the high priest, Joshua son of Jozadak. 12 Tell him this is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘Here is the man whose name is the Branch, and he will branch out from his place and build the temple of the Lord. 13 It is he who will build the temple of the Lord, and he will be clothed with majesty and will sit and rule on his throne.
Zechariah 5:1, 3-6, 10-11, 6:11-13

The prophecy of Zechariah brings forward retribution upon Babylon, and reconciliation upon his children.  We have seen the Lord planning to bring his people back to himself, offering to heal and restore if they will obey.  This is an oft-repeated offer to the people of God.  Submit to me and it will go well with you…

Why do we ever disobey and frustrate the love of our God for us?  Last night I was reading John 3:16, in which God acts upon his incredible love for us by sending his Son into the world.  God has done what none of us would ever do, and yet we know that his own did not receive him.  And we continue to find ways to reject God and his love daily.  God have mercy upon us.

Although Babylon was used by God in the discipline of his children, they are not without accountability for their oppression of the people of God.  The house of those who steal and swear falsely will be destroyed (vs. 3-4).  The iniquity of the people will be set in place in the house of Babylon.  Babylon’s sins will come home to roost.

All the while, God will rebuild the temple and the city of God through his people, and will cloth their priest with majesty as he presides over the temple.  What does this look like in our time? Does this play out today?

There is that old gospel tract which shows the chair and illustrates the point that our lives will be in balance and in harmony with God when Jesus (the cross in the picture) is on the throne of our lives.  Is Jesus clothed with majesty in my life?  Is he honoured and glorified in me as his temple?

After what God did to provide salvation to me as a free gift through Jesus, my response should be clear and decisive.

I am deciding to follow Jesus and submit to his reign in me as his temple.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Zechariah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Priest Clothed in Majesty

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    THE END WILL COME—WILL GODD SEE YOUR FAITH UPON THE EARTH?

Leave a Reply

