Dawn of Hope


Job balances heart-felt cries about his circumstance with ever-present hope in God. Are you able to do that? Do you hold on to the presence and power of God and see that there is a dawn of hope coming after this dark night?  There is a future and God is with you in it…

1 My spirit is broken,
my days are cut short,
the grave awaits me.
2 Surely mockers surround me;
my eyes must dwell on their hostility.

11 My days have passed, my plans are shattered.
Yet the desires of my heart
12 turn night into day;
in the face of the darkness light is near.
13 If the only home I hope for is the grave,
if I spread out my bed in the realm of darkness,
14 if I say to corruption, ‘You are my father,’
and to the worm, ‘My mother’ or ‘My sister,’
15 where then is my hope—
who can see any hope for me?
16 Will it go down to the gates of death?
Will we descend together into the dust?”

25 I know that my redeemer lives,
and that in the end he will stand on the earth.
26 And after my skin has been destroyed,
yet in my flesh I will see God;
27 I myself will see him
with my own eyes—I, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!
Job 17:1-2, 11-16, 19:25-27

Like David in he Psalms, Job balances his heart-felt cries about his circumstance with his ever-present hope in God.  Are you able to find that balance?  Many times, when we face rough patches, we  spiral into the pit and we can’t muster any hope.

That response, however raw and real, ignores the presence and power of God with us and in us.  If he really will not ever leave us or forsake us, then we continue to have hope.  This is what Job embraces here: “the desires of my heart turn night into day.”

There is a dawn in Job’s hope.  He sees a future.  It is more than death, which he knows is not a real hope for himself.  No. Rather, the real hope is that Job’s redeemer lives.  The one who will rescue Job lives.  Job will see that redeemer in the flesh.

His heart yearns to see God. His hope is in that day when his redeemer will stand on the earth.  Job’s words are prophetical and will be fulfilled in Jesus.  I will not say that Job didn’t know what he was saying, because we have seen in Job’s words so far that he clearly has a very deep relationship with God to the point where he may well have understood God’s triune nature.

What is your heart yearning for in your relationship with God?  Is there hope in your heart?  Consider Job and his faith in your own rough patch of life.  God hasn’t left you.  Will you hope in him today?

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

